Arthur T. Gregorian, Inc. was founded during the Great Depression by Arthur T. Gregorian, the first of three generations whose widely respected business is a landmark in Newton Lower Falls, Massachusetts.
The company is founded on three enduring principles: select only genuine, hand-woven rugs from the preeminent weaving centers of the world; continually strive for customer service excellence and foster an appreciation for the art, history and lore of Oriental Rugs.
In 1934, the first store was little more than a tiny retail space below street level in Wellesley, Massachusetts. In 1940, the company moved to Newton Lower Falls, first to an antique home with an adjacent shop, and in 1942 to an old mill building on Washington Street. In 1948 Gregorian’s acquired the present building next door, the old eighteenth century C. F. Crehore paper mill on the Charles River. In 1959, 1965 and again in 1989, the original building was expanded and today comprises over 40,000 square feet with 10 galleries displaying several thousand handmade oriental rugs with rug repair, cleaning and restoration facilities.
With roots firmly planted in the bazaars and rug trading centers of the Middle East, India and Central Asia, Gregorian’s offers every visitor a “little part of Persia in Newton Lower Falls”.